You may want to reset the network settings on your iPhone if it won’t connect to Wi-Fi, mobile data, Bluetooth or a cellular network. This process will remove stored network information from your iPhone and reset your network settings back to the defaults.
When to restore network settings: If your Wi-Fi isn’t working properly, mobile data is not working, or your Bluetooth devices won’t connect, this solution may prove useful to you. It can also be of help if you’ve changed SIM cards or experienced any other issues with your connection.
The good news is that restoring network settings is quite easy to do. You will not have to erase your iPhone or remove any of your photos or applications; you will simply have to reconnect to your Wi-Fi networks afterwards.
What Does Resetting Network Settings Do?
When you reset your network settings, you essentially delete all stored network information from your device. You do not reset the entire device when you perform this reset.
If you choose to reset your network settings, your device will delete the following:
- Stored Wi-Fi networks and passwords
- Mobile data settings
- VPN settings
- Bluetooth settings
- Other network settings
You will still have your pictures, videos, contacts, apps, and other personal files.
This is why the two resets are different. A factory reset erases everything on your device while a network reset only affects network settings.
When Should You Reset Network Settings?
ou don’t have to reset your network settings every time your internet connection fails. First, you should try simple things like turning Wi-Fi on and off again or restarting your iPhone.
You should consider a network reset if:
- Your iPhone is not connecting to the Wi-Fi network.
- Wi-Fi keeps disconnecting.
- Mobile data has stopped working.
- Bluetooth devices do not connect.
- Your network settings are incorrect.
- You changed your SIM or network provider.
- Your iPhone shows a connection, but you cannot access the internet.
If the issue is limited to only one Wi-Fi network, you may be fine with simply restarting your router. However, if you are experiencing problems with several network connections, resetting your network settings may help.
How to Reset Network Settings on iPhone
You can reset your network settings right from within the Settings app. Just follow the steps below.
1. Open Settings
To start with, unlock your iPhone and open the Settings app.
The Settings icon looks like a gear icon. If you cannot find it on your home screen, just search for “Settings.”
2. Open General
Next, scroll down and tap on General.
You will see a number of system options here in this section. The reset options will also be present here.
3. Tap on Transfer or Reset iPhone
Now scroll down to the bottom of the page.
Tap on Transfer or Reset iPhone.
Do not panic even if you see the word “Transfer” here. The menu you see here has both transfer and reset options.
4. Choose Reset
At the bottom of the page, tap on Reset.
You will see a number of reset options here. Remember that each option performs a different task, so be sure to read the name carefully before choosing one.
5. Select the Reset Network Settings Option
From the displayed list, select the Reset Network Settings option.
If your iPhone prompts you, enter your device passcode.
6. Finalize Your Reset
You will see a confirmation message on your iPhone.
You will need to read the confirmation message in order to confirm that you wish to reset the network settings.
Your iPhone will now restart or briefly refresh its network settings. Typically, this procedure takes only a few moments to complete.
Afterward, your network settings will be restored to their original factory settings.
What to Do After the Reset
After a reset, you might see that your iPhone does not connect to its original Wi-Fi anymore.
This process is absolutely normal.
Open Settings > Wi-Fi and select the Wi-Fi you want to connect to and enter in your password.
Using your Bluetooth devices requires you to return to the configurations as well, start a pairing process for your headphones or speaker.
Don’t forget to check your mobile data settings if there were connection problems.
Will Resetting Network Settings Delete Everything?
The answer is no. Network resets do not remove any of the information stored on your iPhone.
Your iPhone will keep your:
- Photos
- Videos (any videos stored)
- Contacts
- Text messages
- Applications
- Notes
- Files in your iCloud (Apple account information)
That said, all saved network credentials will be wiped. Therefore, you may want to write down your credentials ahead of the reset.
What If Wi-Fi Still Does Not Work?
If the Wi-Fi does not work after resetting, there are some things you can try. Firstly, restart your device. You can also find your IP address and see the network info that is assigned to your device. After that, test if some other devices can connect to your Wi-Fi network properly.
Next step would be to move close to the router and try again. Sometimes weak signals can cause problems in connecting to Wi-Fi.
Also, one can restart the router which means switching it off waiting for some time and then switching it on again.
In case Wi-Fi is not working on a particular network, then go to your settings option select the Wi-Fi option, tap on the button next to your network and select the forget network option and reconnect using the Wi-Fi password.
What If Mobile Data Is Not Working?
If your mobile data is not working after you have reset your network settings, the first thing you need to do is check to see if your cellular connection is active.
Make sure that your Airplane mode is turned off and that you have mobile data turned on in the cellular settings.
Look for the signal on your iPhone as well.
If you do not have a signal or your SIM card is not working properly, then you need to get in touch with your carrier. There may be problems with your account, SIM card, coverage, or the network that a network reset will not resolve.
If you’ve recently changed carriers, check with them to see if they need to update your network settings.
What If Bluetooth Is Not Working?
Resetting your network settings may clear your existing Bluetooth connections. Your Bluetooth accessories will have to be paired again when this happens.
First, go to Settings > Bluetooth and switch on your Bluetooth.
Now, switch on your Bluetooth device and make it discoverable.
If the device still does not respond, turn off both the iOS device and the Bluetooth device. Make sure your Bluetooth device is charged as well.
Does Resetting Network Settings Improve Internet Speed?
The answer is no; more often than not, resetting your network settings will not increase your internet speed.
However, it can help resolve certain issues with the internet that are due to bad settings or configurations.
If your iPhone keeps having trouble staying connected to Wi-Fi, you might want to reset your network settings to get it back on track.
Should You Reset Network Settings Before Other Fixes?
It is usually better to try simple solutions first.
Try to restart your iPhone and check if you are able to use Wi-Fi or mobile data. Ensure that Airplane mode is not enabled. Also check if any of the apps that you are trying to access needs to be updated.
If none of the above methods worked reset your network settings. Keep in mind resetting the settings will result in loss of saved network information so you have to be ready to enter Wi-Fi passwords again.
Final Thoughts
Resetting network settings on the iPhone is an easy way to fix some of the issues with network connectivity. It will help when Wi-Fi, cellular networks, Bluetooth, and other network functions are not working properly.
In order to reset the settings, go to Settings, click on General, choose Transfer or Reset iPhone, select Reset, and click on Reset Network Settings
You should keep in mind that the process does not remove any of your personal files. However, it will delete saved Wi-Fi networks, passwords, and other related information.
This means that you have to have your important passwords for Wi-Fi networks saved in advance. If the problem stays unsolved, check your router, SIM card, carrier, and any other networking device that you are using.